Under Article 27 of the Basic Law No. 2011-6 of 16 December 2011 on the organization provisional government the Constituent Assembly ended with the provisions of the Constitution of 1 June 1959. Download

Article 39 (Amended by constitutional law n° 88-88 dated July 25, 1988 and by constitutional law n° 2002-51 dated June 1, 2002)

The President of the Republic shall be elected for a period of five years by universal, free, direct and secret ballot, and by an absolute majority of the votes cast, during the last 30 days of the presidential term.
In the event that such a majority is not reached during the first round, a second round shall be organized on the second Sunday following the ballot.
Only the two candidates having obtained the highest number of votes in the first round shall be entitled to participate in the second round, taking into consideration any withdrawals, in accordance with the conditions set out in the Electoral Code.
In the event it is impossible to organize elections on a timely basis, due to war or imminent peril, the President's term of office may be extended by a law adopted by the Chamber of Deputies, until such time when elections can be organized.
The President of the Republic is re-electable.